Some people say that television is a very useful tool when it comes to education. Others argue that television is a much overused, ineffective teacher. Discuss both of these views and give your own opinion as to the usefulness of television as an educational tool.

There is little room for doubt that television has developed to a stage where millions of people cannot imagine their lives without. However, impact of this addiction is a subject of intense debate when usage of television is linked to education. Some people deem influence of TV as facilitator of education while others believe that usage television might bring no positive influences for learning at all.

On one hand, while doing justice to the merits of using TV on educational purposes, its unique benefits cannot be given nelson’s eye. To start with, TV provides a learner with up-to-date and prompt data. To explain, news on television are instantaneously updated which keep the person aware of every minute happenings, discoveries and inventions. Secondly, a learner’s outlook is broadened by watching documentaries and movies. Consequently, television watchers are educated since they have opportunity to observe the places they have never been to.

On paradoxical side, though TV offers mankind countless benefits, too much exposure to those programs has its shortcomings. The reason for this drawback might be rooted in the fact that every single show broadcasts or programs are created for the audience, causing restraints to creative abilities of people. In other words, people spend their massive time on television and avoid involving in any constructive work. Furthermore, having great obsession for TV shows and sitting in front of leads to laziness and people are accustomed to Western culture since they control large sectors of media.

In the light of these facts, one can conclude that television can have both bonus and negative influences. Television can be absolutely beneficial on condition that it is not used to excess. Owing to wide availability of data on television concerning various subjects one can have wider perspective and increase his knowledge exponentially.