Some people say that young people learn useful skills by playing electronic and computer games. Others say that young people who play electronic and computer games are wasting their time. Discuss both views and give your opinion?

The effects of video game to teenagers have always been a topical debate. While some people agree that video game could help youngsters to gain advantageous skills, others think that computer games are time-consuming and in this essay, I will be discussing both of these opinions.

On the one hand, it is true that video games are time-consuming. Teenagers could be completely addicted to video games when they spend a huge amount of time playing it. Since online games are competitive, players often spend as much time as they could in order to be the strongest player and so they might not be able to escape from the fiction world which resulted in time-wasting. Moreover, there are several games are just only for entertainment and not having any educational purposes which will cost the player quite amount of time.

On the other hand, there are several skills from electronic games that would be helpful for teenagers in reality. Firstly, playing video games require people’s brain to react faster in order to catch up with the images which appear on the screen. As a result, children who play video games tend to learn faster than those who do not in school. Secondly, with the collaboration between developers and teachers, there are plenty of educational games are now available on the market for students to help them understand more about their subjects such as math, chemistry or even learning new languages. Finally, young people might be able to learn teamwork skill while they are playing video games with others which will be essential for them in their study as well as their future career.

In conclusion, although spending time playing video games might be wasteful, I personally believe that some children could learn beneficial skills when they play it as long as their parents can control their gaming time.