Every year several languages die out. Some people think that this is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages in the world.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Language is the way for people to communicate and spread out their knowledge which makes us different from other species. It is true that there are plenty of languages in the world, however each year several of languages just faded away. While some people discussing that this disappearance is not a huge problem for the society because it helps people to communicate more efficiently, I completely disagree with this idea.

Firstly, the diversity of languages shows the uniqueness of different countries in the world. It is mainly because the history and tradition of a nation could only be fully understood by using their own language. Language represents the existence and cultures of a country; therefore, the disappearance of languages might lead to the end of some civilizations. If no action will be taken into account to preserve languages, soon human will only have less than 5 languages to communicate throughout the world. For example, due to globalization, English is now one of the most popular languages in the world and in some country, people are now speaking English as their daily language instead of their own language.

Secondly, language is the powerful tool for people to spread out their understandings. If there were only a few languages in the world, people could not be able to achieve all the essence of knowledge around the globe. For instance, there are plenty of physics theories written in German or theories about the universe were written in Arabic, so if these languages disappeared, people would not have the ability to understand these theories.

In conclusion, it is our responsibilities to preserve languages in order for newer generations to have a chance to approach different cultures and traditions around the world.