Some people think that the age limit for driving should be increased to make driving safer, do you agree or disagree?

Recent decades have witnessed an upsurge in the number of people succumbing to road accidents, raising many questions of transportation regulations. Although the proposal of increasing the driving age limit sounds reasonable, it is not without much more practical and effective measures.

On the one hand, there are a multitude of reasons why official authorities should increase the legal age for driving. First, Young individuals’ immaturity is invariably associated with their overconsumption of alcohols when it comes to driving. Subsequently the likelihood of fatal accidents is inevitable as their brain is negatively affected by the stimulus chemicals from alcohols. Second, young people are usually irresponsible for causing accidents and neglect their duties of compensating for the victims. Actually, the majority of hit-and-run cases all go to the young generation which could be attributed to their fear of financial burdens and imprisonment.

On the other hand, governments should undertake many initiatives with higher efficiency to crack down on this driving issue. First, More capital investments in the improvement of transportation infrastructure should be encouraged. In fact, the deterioration of unfunded road systems and bridges has culminated in its collapse, killing hundreds of drivers. In addition, official authorities should impose heavier punishment on drivers causing accidents. It is implied that this legislation would make people drive with higher degree of responsibility and carefulness as they take the heavy fine into consideration.

In conclusion, lifting the legal driving age is not a feasible measure despite some drawbacks of young people’s irresponsibility. Additionally, governments and drivers should cooperated to find the best approach into this safety problem.