Some people think that all teenagers should be required to do unpaid work in their free time to help the local community. They believe this would benefit both the individual teenager and society as a whole. Do you agree or disagree?

There are a variety of perspectives that young people ought to engage in volunteer work in their free time to support the local community. Some people believe that this can be beneficial both to the individual and society as a whole. However, in my viewpoint, I do not agree that youngsters have to do unpaid work.

To begin with, it is a considerable fact that students taking part in voluntary work can be negatively influenced on their performance at school. To be more exact, on a daily basis, young people are always under pressure due to hectic schedules at school where they are required to concentrate on their lessons, as well as finish a lot of homeworks and deadlines when they come back home. As a consequence, students can be neglected from their lessons at school, which plays a fundamental role for their ambitions in the future, leading to disappointed performance in class. In addition, it is understandable that at an early age, youngsters need to spend time on entertainment that contributes to their development in terms of physical and mental health.

Moreover, it is the fact that results created by teenagers in unpaid jobs do not have good quality compared to those which are made by adults. To clarify, students have little experience as well as specialized knowledge to work effectively in social tasks which expect a huge amount of skills for contribution to community development. For that reason, teenagers ought to focus on studying and improve their survival skills in class instead of working on a volunteer basis.

In conclusion, even though some people say that teenagers who work in unpaid jobs will not only have a chance to benefit themselves, but also contribute to improve the quality of communication, I still personally argue that students do not have to join in volunteer work obligatorily.