Some people think that all teenagers should be required to do unpaid work in their free time to help the local community. They believe this would benefit both the individual teenager and society as a whole. Do you agree or disagree?

There is a popular belief that by having the adolescent to do volunteer work in their free time, not only they but also the society will have various benefical gain from it. Personally, I totally agree with this opinion. With the participation in public service, children will have a better chance to be more responsible and thus can bring more value to the community that they live in.

Adolescence is a complex phase when compared to other stages of psychological development where the teenager is constantly learning and developing their own personality traits. By having teenagers to be involved with the community work, we have created a setting that requires mature responsibilities and efforts which is extremely effective in cultivating the children. For examples, research has shown that teenagers who spent more time on volunteering are more likely to perform better in higher education than the control group. In addition, working with the locals as a leisure activity also keep the adolescent from involving in criminal activity or bad habit. Many social scientists have agreed that communities which are able to encourage more adolescent to participate in public service also have a lower number of juvenile criminal or adolescent drug abuse cases.

Besides being highly beneficial for the teenager’s life, the youth’s commitment in volunteering also increase the community welfare. For instances, in 2008, the youth union volunteer group in Vietnam has been able to raise 500.000.000 VND to build a school for children in a mountainous area. Furthermore, the involvement of both the adolescent and the adult in local work create an equal and respectful environment for the two age groups to have a better understanding of each other. Because of that, the grown-up can be more efficient in mentoring the adolescent and thus create better citizens for the society.

In conclusion, I think that we should have all the adolescent to participate in the public service as a leisure activity because of several potential benefits that it can bring to both the adolescent themselves and the society.