We cannot help everyone in the world that needs help, so we should only be concerned with our own communities and countries.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

There is a popular belief that we cannot support everyone in need on earth so it is reasonable that we should only concentrate on our own groups and nations. In my opinion, this statement is partly agreeable.

Personally, I totally agree with the fact that people always need supports. In the history of humanity, poverty, diseases, and war are constantly challenging people to breakthrough their hardship. Even in today society, when both natural and social sciences have greatly developed, some part of the world still suffer from the same problems that we had to faced decades ago. So it is only ignorance to think that we can solve every problem existing just because people need our helps. Even the ethical code of conduct for social workers admits that limited resources is an unchangeable feature when working with people in need.

Despite the harsh truth about the ever existing problems in the world, I can hardly agree with the idea of own groups and nations concentrated belief. In a global economy, every country is heavily depended on the others to develop further. The surplus of a developing nation means that more goods and services are being provided globally and thus create more jobs and opportunities for others countries. In addition to economic benefits, safety also is a significant aspect when considering offering support for certain communities and nations. A harmless virus when traveled through a community with over usage of antibiotics may evolve into a great threat to humanity. A nation in continuous internal conflict will lead to others nations immigrant problems. With reasonable concerns about others communites and nations, ones can be benefited greatly not only from increased reputation in external relationship but also from living in a safer world that they have created.

In conclusion, I have to admit that we cannot help everyone in need but it is irrational to only concentrate on our own groups and nations.