Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is believed by some that every undergraduate ought to be granted the freedom to decide the career to pursue as opposed to compelling them to choose solely science and technology related courses because it is beneficial later in life. These views would be deliberated in-depth, however, in my opinion, students should be permitted to study any course, but should be guided with necessary information to make the right decision.

On one hand, we live in a free and fair society where everyone, undergraduate not excluded, have equal right and opportunity. Therefore, for fairness, it is crucial not to mandate them on the course to study because it constitutes infringing on their right to decision-making. Furthermore, the talents and aspirations of people differ, while some perform better in a certain course, another may not, so, it will be worthwhile to permit them to follow the paths they would be successful at. For instance, preference of men contradicts that of women in terms of career path, while the former may do better in science courses, the latter do good in humanity and managerial ones.

On the other hand, since science and technology will be of future importance, it is argued that it ought to be the only courses to be learnt in university. Graduate of these fields is in short supply in the labor market, if the trend continues, hospitals, telecommunications and engineering firms would be left without a choice than to shut down. This would have a detrimental effect on everyone as our day-to-day living is dependent on them. More so, graduates of these disciplines are assured of immediate employment after school.

To conclude, I believe everyone should pursue careers of choice whatever they may be, with adequate counselling to aid them not to make the wrong choice.