Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The controversy regarding how the college pupils should learn came from two groups with different points of view. The first group states students should become independent learners while another group claims that the best way for undergraduates to learn is by suggesting to them any subjects that will be applicable and fit with their future. This essay will attempt to briefly explain those two perspectives, then at the end, the author will decide which side she stands on.

Firstly, people who believe that students should be free to choose what kind of courses she/he wants to learn, assume sophomores are in the mature age stage hence they should already know what they desire and don't. The upside from this opinion is that with this kind of treatment, the freshman will be encouraged to become more responsible of and mature in dealing with any situation. For instance, once their decision turns out not to work well or fails then it will be a life lesson so they can re-evaluate and create solutions towards it. The downside is the possibility for the college pupil to become perplexed and frustrated might happen, since they are used to being guided/dictated to by their parents.

Secondly, the communities who suggest scholars should only take several subjects that fit with future industry, see students as children who need to be guided and taught many things. The benefit is that freshmen become more focused on learning so the risk of them failing can be suppressed. However, they will depend on their parents or other people since they can not resolve problems. Besides, further threat in Indonesia will lack non-exact experts as common people have the mindset that if they want to be successful in career, the options are only two: by studying science or technology fields.

Considering the two opposing opinions, the author tends to be on the same page with the first opinion. Indeed, this view is relatively new to most Indonesian where parents often dictate their children in the name of care and love. The author suggests parents can familiarize their children with decision making from an early age, as simple as giving the toddler the authority to choose their daily wear