Some people think because some children find some subjects such as mathematics and philosophy difficult they ought to be optional instead of compulsory.To what extent do you agree?

Many people beleive that students should be able to choose subjects they like rather than studying subjects which they don't like and face difficulties leaning them. Although, it is important to have basic standard knowledge of range of subjects but mugging up the topics of a non-interesting subject may trouble learners and often lead to bad grades. This essay will discuss how an option to choose between subjects is beneficial for children.

It is very important to gain some insights of different field of studies so that young students can choose a subject which they wish to pursue in their University education or build their professional career around it. Giving an option of dropping a subject in early education may lead to problems in the future. It is likely to happen that most children will choose a subject which seems easier to them or choose one by the influence of someone else like a friend or sibling without considering the value of that subject in their ambition. Due to all these reasons many people stand against the voice of subjects given to young children.

However, of one is dedicated and sure about his/her ambition, giving them subject of their choice will shape the path they want to continue. Having a deep knowledge of one specific field will give them a head start on their professional career. For instance, if a student want to become a mechanical engineer someday he/she may want to choose subjects like physics, mathematics, engineering drawing etc. Which will be beneficial for them rather than studying geography and history. Considering all these reasons I beleive students should be able to select a curriculum for themselves.

In conclusion, learning different topic might help one in selecting a career whereas, giving choices will inhance the knowledge and skills required for that career. I think student should study variety of subjects in their early education but once they reach an age where they can select what's good for them, they should be given options.