It is certainly true that traffic accident becomes one of the greatest issues of road safety. Many youngsters who are just over the minimum legal age for driving and riding are eager to get the license, and this seems to cause more traffic menaces. I do agree the adjustment of minimum driving age is one effective measure to solve this problem, but it is not the only best way.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that nowadays the majority of drivers consists of young people, and they have to be responsible for their behaviors. Drunk drivers, for example, who are mainly the youngsters coming from a binge party threaten the traffic safety the whole time. Thus, appropriate adjustment of driving age can function as one strategy on account of the situation. However, it is not difficult to find drunk drivers in the group of middle-aged people, namely the parents of youngsters. In other words, solutions to this specific situation should also consider older people

On the other hand, the traffic accident is not only related to drivers, let alone young drivers. Indeed, it is usually associated with several aspects. First, drivers and pedestrians are definitely involved with this issue. For example, the smartphone addicts will be easily targeted by a vehicle driven by someone drunk. Second, terrible road condition is usually found to be the context of a traffic accident. A sudden failure of signal lamp and the congestion in peak period can easily bring an accident. Besides, the road condition is also interrelated with road safety. A narrow driveway, compared with a broad driveway, for example, usually brings more possibility of the traffic accident.

In conclusion, the strategy of adjusting driving age is effective to some extent, but it is not the best solution. A combination of improvement in road planning or urban planning and driver-pedestrian management policy should be taken into overall consideration.