It is certainly true that museums and historical sites seem to be more appealing to tourists than to local people. This is probably due to a combination of the expanding strategy of tourism and the growing curiosity of people living outside this site. In this essay, I am going to discuss this topic on account of several extents and give some suggestions regarding it.

On the one hand, tourists who are willing to read a city and know the locals usually go to visit the museum or other historical sites. This brings visitors the information of the history, culture, and context of the place. However, someone who has been a resident in a place for a long time must be quite familiar with the things which the museum displays. Having known this, it is understandable that the locals may not easily get interested in a local history trip.

On the other hand, the displays in a museum or the historical architectures and landscapes don`t update in the light of modernization. Although they are attractive to tourists, the locals, having seen the historical display in a museum, for example, hardly come back to see the same things again and again. In other words, local people may not remember every item of the displays but live within the context represented by those things.

In my experience, there certainly are some methods to attract more local people to go to the museum. Firstly, the commercial strategy is a significant method which can merge new and fresh interest with the historical memory. Examples of the local pass ticket and discounting of connected products can encourage more local people to come back to look around. Additionally, people can create videos, music, and media by cinematography and broadcasting. Innovative media can always work as an innovative method for rekindling local people with the memory of history.