Some people think that the best way to improve road safety is to increase the minimum legal age for driving a car or motorbike. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many individuals believe that raising the lowest legal age for using motorized vehicles is the optimal method to increase road safety. Personally, I agree with this statement to a certain extent because I am convinced that there are better solutions for this issue.

On the one hand, a higher age limit for drivers is beneficial for road safety enhancement. Firstly, young people tend to lack caution and patience, hence they will have reckless driving behavior such racing or running red lights. Secondly, due to the deficiency of experience, adolescents cannot find feasible solutions when they face problematic situations in driving. For instance, if the brakes stop working unexpectedly, young drivers may become panic, which can lead to tragic accidents. Consequently, increasing driving age can lower the number of traffic fatalities.

On the other hand, there are more practical approaches to enhance road safety. Government should impose more severe punishments on traffic violators such as longer prison sentences or more heavy fine. Therefore, drivers will drive more responsibly regardless of their legal driving age. Furthermore, authorities can launch campaigns about road safety to raise people’s consciousness and help chauffeurs fully understand dangers of road accidents. Additionally, driving tests should be more challenging to ensure a person is mentally and physically fit to operate a vehicle.

In conclusion, although increasing driving age is a reliable way to reduce casualty, humans can adopt more effective methods. My view is that people should combine multiple changes in different aspects to address road safety issues.