Some people think that the best way to improve road safety is to increase the minimum legal age for driving a car or motor bike To what extent do you agree or disagree

The increased incidence of traffic accidents has been a certain catastrophe for many countries, costing an enormous amount of money and effort to eliminate. Although increasing minimum age for driving cars or riding motorbikes might be necessary, I am not convinced that it is the optimum solution to tackle this issue.

Firstly, traffic infrastructure, namely road condition, traffic signal management and control systems should principally account for road safety. In all likelihood, a multi-lane road with appropriately arranged signing systems will be less perilous for drivers and pedestrians. Secondly, public transit is proved to be safer than driving due to its prioritized transportation systems and rigorously trained drivers. Therefore, upgrading public transport such as metro or bus systems is among crucial solutions to improve road safety.

On the other hand, the endeavor of eradicating road traffic injuries might turn to be futile if people’s consciousness of traffic rules is inadequate. It is true that the possibility of accidents is also regarded to driving skills and awareness, not merely aging matters. Therefore, early education to improve the knowledge, insight and attitudes towards safe traffic participation is utterly essential for every citizen. In addition, strict traffic rules and penalties might play an integral part of effective traffic systems because people will be more cautious about being sentenced by driving carelessly.

General speaking, minimizing legal age for traffic participants is probably a practical sentiment but should not be considered as the best solution to reduce traffic accidents and increase road safety. Other elements such as traffic infrastructures and people’s respect for the law are more critical factors forming safe transportation systems.