Some people think that the best way to improve road safety is to increase the minimum legal age for driving a car or motorbike. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Traffic accidents is accountable for losses of valuable resources and the lives of hundreds of thousands of lives each year. To alleviate the impact of the phenomenon, some advocate to the increased age for drivers of vehicles. I some what disagree with the idea as it would spell trouble for people and society, albeit there are advantages associated with the point of view.

Restriction on ages for driving cars and motorbikes may take a toll on people's lives in many dimensions. It is common that cars or motorbikes are the main mode of transit of many young individuals. If these people are deprived of the opportunities to drive, their private lives are likely to be interuptted, rendering them unable to go to school, purchase necessities, or hang out with their friends. Additionally, preventing young drivers from participating in driving may be a waste of social resources. Young people can become qualified drivers of vehicles, transporting passengers and goods. Imposing limitation on the age of people who drive functional vehicles would disable a certain proportion of the workforce, which in turns increase the cost of labor, exerting pressure on the work market.

Admittedly, the attendence of young vehicles users may have negative implications on people safety. The major concern is that young minds tend to attend to reckless driving behaviors namely speeding, drunk driving, disobeying traffic regulations. These inappropriate acts while driving, however, can be mitigated by either early trainings or educations upon the significance of people's well-being.

In sum, I mostly object to the raise of minimum age of drivers. Even though the application would reduce the damages young drivers may have on the society, it causes problems for people's daily lives as well as wastes the human resources.