some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe that there better alternative ways of reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion

In this day and age, people are often confronted with a myriad of social problems, one of the most inherent is the rising crime rates. Some people consider prison sentences as the way to control illegalities while others claim that improvements on education can eliminate the problem from its root. It is my opinion that education is not far better solution to reduce crime.

On the one hand, the reason why prison sentences is indispensiablly nesessary varies. Firstly, they are the place to keep people who broke the laws and ensure the safety of other citizens. Especially, serious crimes like murder, rapists whose thoughts and behaviors are deeply ingrained and unbending. Secondly, this method acts as an deterrent against crime and deters potential criminal from being actual ones. This is because, knowing that getting caught and condemned in jail means losing the freedom and throwing into a miserable life in a cell, people who have intention of committing crime would consider going down the path. Imprisonment, thus, proves to be feasible to reduce the crime rate significantly.

On the other hand, education is of critical importance to highten their behavior and awareness to form a civilized society. No sooner are they timely oriented than they might be well-formed about the tremendous damage which committing crime causes to society. Consequently, this would lead to the decline in crime rate and dispel any ideas of becoming offenders. In addition, vocational trainning releases also functions as the most important intervention. Job training enables them to acquire earning capability and new working skills after rehabilitating. For example, only after authorities supplying youngsters with more incentives did the crime rate plummet.

In conclusion, although education brings tangible benefits, i still believe that imprisonment is better to tackle the increasing crime rates.