In this sophisticated era, crime rate has been rised immensely and distinctive decisions have been taken by governments to stop it. Whereas, giving longer prison sentence is one of them. Some people think it is better idea while other believe that there are alternative methods as well. Here, I shall scrutinise both sides of this assertion with my proper verdict at last.

To commense with, crime rate in contemporary world is one of the major problems faced internationally. So, longer prisions can be a solution to it as if most of criminals will be sent to prision for longer period, the crime rate will ultimately decrease. Moreover, if rules will be strict like longer prison sentences, people will be afraid of committing any crime. To illustrate, In Dubai rules are strict and crime rate is much lower, it can be a good example for rest of world. Thus, this idea can be tremendously successful.

Nonetheless, In prison criminals will meet other people like them so, instead of rehabilitation they will make new plans for crimes. And, after their relese they will still be criminals. Secondly, all crimes are not same so, it will be injustice to give same punishment for sever and small crimes as well. This eventually will lead to hostile environment ina nation. For instance, kidnapping and theft can never be same and its admonishment will also be different. Hence, some other method should be adopted .

In conclusion, long prison can be successful but only in some circumstances. So some alternative method should be there, else people will loose faith in justice.