Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give more prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime. Discuss both view and give your opinion.

It is true that in order to mitigate criminal activities, a longer prison sentences would be given to ensure crimes not to infringe again. However, I contend that this is not the only way to reduce illegal activities, because there are alternative measures which would also effective.

On the one hand, strict punishments can certainly help to encourage people’s awareness of what they are acting in daily life, which is right and which is wrong. In others word, prison sentences for dangerous crimes might lead to the fear of losing their freedom, the most valuable things or even losing their sense of purposes in life. The aim of these punishments is to show offenders that their actions have grave long-term consequences. Therefore, the longer imprisonment is, the stronger defense it becomes to protect society from illegal activities, particularly dangerous ones such as murder, assault.

On other hand, I believe that several different ways could be taken into account to tackle these potential problems. Firstly, it is vitally important to educate people’s horizon than simply to send them to jail. Some young adults in the age of 15-23, for example, are unable to define their behaviors are appropriate or not with social norms, they are likely to imitate violence which appears on TV and violate the laws. Secondly, the majority of criminal acts are result of poverty and unemployment, thus, some measures that governments need to carry out is creating more jobs and enhancing the quality of human’s life. If they can do this, the percentage of offenders will be reduced and society becomes safer than ever.

In conclusion, while imprisonments can help to prevent illegal activities, I believe that other measures that I mention above are also necessary.