Some people think that children should aim to do their best at whatever they are doing. Others disagree. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

One school of thought holds that children should set a target to try to be the best in any activities they pursue. While I accept that this perception is somewhat justifiable, I would stand on the opposite view that it is unnecessary in some cases to try to be the first and it can lead to a detrimental effect among children.

On the one hand, the idea of striving for the best may have some potential benefits for youngsters. Firstly, it can prepare children for a pattern of progressive attitude for their future life. Hard work is one of the most important things to achieve both academically and in the work world. Secondly, without aiming to do their best, children may lack the motivation to do numerous things and are likely to reject them. With a high goal in mind, young children may have to work hard and do well in any field they are taking part in.

On the other hand, there are myriads of compelling reasons as I am convinced that it is irrelevant for children to try to get the first rank. First and foremost, it can be seen that not many activities require numerous skills or competition between children. For example, when joining in a normal game such as building a sandcastle, it is unnecessary to set a goal in mind that children must win this kind of game because having fun and delight moments with friends is the most priority aspect. Secondly, there is only one first-ranked, numerous children tend to lack confidence if they do not achieve this rank. As a result, it can put unfortunate pressure and lose their creativity and imagination, which is the main factor in the development of children.

In conclusion, although trying to do the best can provide a solid pattern of behavior for children in the future, I believe that the most vital thing in childhood life is being fun and having a great time with their friends and pursuing their interests, and not being affected by any pressure.