Governments should make laws about people’s nutrition and food choice. Others argue that it is their choice. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

One school of thought holds that it is appropriate for the governments to enforce laws on the people’s selection of food and nutritional values. While I accept this perception as somewhat justifiable, I would stand on the opposite view with the idea of respect to personal preferences.

On the one hand, the way governments implement laws on food choice can bring a potential benefit to the residents on controlling their eating habits and creating healthier diets. This argument means that lawmakers can set a standard intake of essential nutrition as advised by scientists and nutritionists, therefore can lessen the amount of packaged and fast food that each person consumes daily. As a result, if someone resists this kind of law they might have to pay a little money

while companies who sell unlisted food that was encouraged by a nutritionist will be banned from operating. Therefore, the money that has to be paid can be put into the public fund to contribute to building more and more eating habits campaigns that can raise people’s awareness about the importance of having legislation on food selections.

On the other hand, there are myriads of compelling reasons as I am convinced that it is of paramount importance for people to let them freely choose their food products to fit with their interests. Firstly, the people’s food choices are based on their financial basements and their taste preferences. For example, several people decide to go to McDonald's because they like the cheesy taste and the feeling of satisfying their tongue when they have their first bite of the grilled meat. Moreover, someone has only the option to pay for a meal in local street food because they can not afford an expensive diet meal. Secondly, enforcing laws on food choices somewhat affects people's rights and is simply unethical.

In conclusion, although I accept that laws can help each person know more about the vitality of having a balanced eating diet. I believe that two main reasons that come from people’s purposes and human rights determine that it is inappropriate to enforce regulation on food choices.