Scientific research should be carried out and controlled by the governments rather than private companies. Do you agree or disagree?

It is widely argued that the responsibility of conducting and managing scientific research should be by the governments, not by private enterprises. While I accept that this perception is somewhat justifiable, I believe that it would bestow enormous benefits if scientific research are conducted by private companies based on some reasons discussed in this essay.

On the one hand, the option of leading the governments performing research may have potential benefits for society as a whole. Firstly, with the concerns of society such as pandemics or global warming, it is easier for the governments to deal with based on their responsibility to resident’s rights. For example, the COVID pandemics cost a high amount of spending to find the vaccine to fight viruses for the safety of people, therefore it can only be addressed by the governments this problem by using the national budget and taking advantage of collaboration between countries. Secondly, scientific research controlled by governments will ensure reliability and minimize the risk of using them for criminal activity. For instance, numerous scientific research related to weapons must be managed by governmental organizations if the country does not want to be affected by terrorism or warfare.

On the other hand, there are myriads of compelling reasons as I am convinced that private companies should have opportunities to conduct research. One reason is that enterprises researching on the behalf of commercial interests are likely to have the motivation to conduct research more quickly and more efficiently. Tesla, for example, has been carrying out numerous researches to produce cars and bring them to the market. Secondly, private companies tend to use young labor to perform all of the research, therefore they will have numerous creative ideas and have great inventions. In terms of researching medicines, private enterprises have many approaches to find remedies or treatments to cure cancer or some fatal diseases.

In conclusion, it is irrefutable that leading governments carrying out research can help residents from being affected by societal concerns or the risk of warfare, I would contend that scientific research should be responsible for private enterprises.