Some people think that climate change has a negative impact on business, while others think it provides more business opportunities. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

For years, the relationship between climate change and business has been a controversy and this topic has also been brought on the table for debates. The following paper will be looking at both opportunities and challenges that climate change brings to business. However, I personally believe that this phenomenon greatly damages the businesses.

There is scientific evidence indicating the negative effects of climate change on businesses. First and foremost, it indirectly affects enterprises by increasing production costs. A clarification would be forests which act as a filter of Earth turning CO2 into oxygen and assist in reducing climate change. Therefore, it is requisite for governments to restrict activities related to over exploitation of logging companies along with other natural resources including raw materials, especially the scarce ones. As it is restricted for exploiting, the prices are more likely to grow significantly. Additionally, agricultural sectors might be a victim when suffering from deleterious influences of climate change. As the unpredictability of weather conditions, crops will be impacted by catastrophic weather events ranging from forest fire, hurricanes, blizzards, etc. As a consequence, this would pressurize the food production industry as well as putting a heavy strain on the mission of keeping the world population fed.

Despite the aforementioned drawbacks, climate change also brings about many opportunities for entrepreneur. When climate change becomes a public concern, companies that aim at sustainable development will be the winners. To exemplify, environmentally-friendly campaigns could be one of the operations for firms to promote their products. Taking air-conditioner as an illustration, when the global temperatures rise resulting in hot weather, consumers tend to purchase this electronic device as a solution to cool down. Consequently, manufacturers would be successful in building up their images and public relation as well as increasing sales. In spite of satisfying the needs of customers and boosting profits of companies, such kind of step can be a contributor to exacerbate climate change. This is because if air-conditioners are used widely and frequently, a large amount of energy will be required to operate leading to more fossil fuels being combusted for energy generation. Therefore, the more these fuels are burnt, the more carbon dioxide is produced which is the primary heat-trapping causing climate change to be more severe.

Taking everything into consideration, this reinforces my perspective that climate change is one of the root causes for business to be negatively influenced. However, certain benefits are achievable when enterprises have appropriate actions.