Some people think that competitive sports should be included as a subject in school, while others believe that it has a negative effect on children. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some people claim that schools should provide sports competitions for students, while others oppose, saying that there could be consequences. I believe that there should not, and here I will discuss the reasons below.

One idea is that it can lead to the increase of one’s performance. By competing with each other, they could gain more motivation, which one could stride to become better and get an insight of how competitive the world is. Players could also learn from their rivals, as each may master in some particular field, depending on which position they play. For example, basketball, which is a popular option among adolescents, when playing they could learn the ability of shooting hoops as well as drilling the ball. As there are ranks given, one could learn from a fellow competitor who performs better, and certainly benefit and also make improvements.

Some people may disagree, saying that this action could result in negative results, such as applying pressure on certain members that are much weaker. The reason being that one student may be extra competitive, and would do whatever it takes to achieve their goal. As everyone has their strength and weaknesses, for instance, a fellow classmate which lacks in skills may feel even more stressed, as a competitive classmate may go around giving orders and also harsh criticism due to their strong desire to win.

I believe that institutions should remain the content of the sports subject the same, without adding competitions to it, because I think sportsmanship is extremely important, and everyone should enjoy an activity without having to battle it out for rankings.

To conclude, unless students know how to have an amicable race, these would potentially affect one’s willingness to take part.