Some people think that cultural traditions may be destroyed when they are used as money-making attractions aimed at tourists. Others believe that it is the only way to save these traditions.

Discuss both these view and give your opinion.

It is often said that cultural traditions will be ruined if they are applied for tourism attractions. However, some claim that utilizing cultural traditions is the only method of preserving these traditions

First and foremost, using cultural traditions to attract tourists may cause damage to the traditions themselves. They are being commercialized for profit. For example, the moment a tourist sets foot on a place of attraction, he can be bombarded with a crowd of peddlers or a line of shops selling souvenirs and handicraft that are often counterfeit or overpriced. Secondly, traditional jobs and skills will die out as the local people are forced to work in the tourism industry. They may adjust those traditions to fit the tourists’ tastes for making much more money. Therefore, those cultural traditions will be replaced by the modern – style custom, losing the original meaning of itself.

Nevertheless, making use of cultural traditions is also the way to save these traditions which lack of money and labor to survive. In some developed countries, the government can not afford to renovate the historical buildings or areas. As a result, these places along with traditional skills and lifestyles are not presented to visitors in an impressive way and might be forgotten. For a lot of parts of the world, tourism become a major source of income and helps to save the local cultures from dying out.

In conclusion, I whole heartedly believe that people should find the right balance between tourism development and cultural protection. The government have to make an effective plan to successfully attract a large number of tourists while still preserving their distinct cultural traditions.