Some people think that death penalty is a good tool for people who committed violent crimes. Others believe that this way of punishment is not acceptable in modern world. What is your opinion?

Death penalty has provoked critical controversy over its acceptability to serve as a punishment for hideous offences. In my opinion, despite several benefits of death sentence recognized by certain part of society, it is truly not feasible solution nowadays for preserving the law.

On one hand, people who committed serious criminal offences should face inevitable punishment. Death penalty deters criminals from committing crimes. Proponents of the death penalty argue that retribution helps console grieving families and ensures that the individuals sentenced will not have a chance to cause any tragedy to other potential victims. It is also known as quick and painless procedure due to the latest technologies. For example, compared to the electrocution or hanging that was used some while ago, lethal injection is a superior alternative to these outdated methods.

On the other hand, from my standpoint, there are several reasons to believe that capital punishment does not provide the expected benefits. First, it is not cost-effective. Opponents of this sanction clearly demonstrate that the lifetime sentences are a more severe and less expensive punishment than death. Admittedly, it affects the poor segments of society who cannot afford hiring attorney and get high-level of legal support. There is no credible proof that this way of punishment deters crimes. Research demonstrates that there is no significant difference in the rates of serious crimes in the countries which use death penalty compared to the countries which abolished it. And finally, the justice system is far from ideal, people are making mistakes and innocent people may be charged. While people who are wrongfully imprisoned may be released from prison, those sentenced for a death penalty may never be saved.

In conclusion, while death penalty is seen by supporters as a viable solution for several valid reasons, I am still convinced that there is no credible proof that it works as a deterrent of serious criminal crimes.