Some people think that developing countries need financial help from international organizations. Other think that it is practical aid and advice that is needed. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

People hold different views on the measures to assist poor nations. While some people believe that assistance in terms of non-financial such as practical aids and advices are more beneficial, I am of the opinion that financial support is an effective and efficient solution to help less developed countries

On the one hand, there are reasons to believe that practical aids and advices are what developing countries need. First, an effective education system is one of the key factors that determine the prosperity of a country on how to build such a system is critical. For example, since the Vietnamese school curriculum focuses heavily on theories and ignore the practicality, students fail to apply what they learn to come up with creative solution to real world problems, which has led to the impedance of the country’s economic and technological progress. At this stage, consultancy from developed countries is needed to improve Vietnam education system. Secondly, foreign assistance can also be in the form of providing human resources. By having a sufficient amount of expertise and professional work in various fields, hopefully less develop countries can lift themselves out of economic difficulties and head towards a sustainable development.

On the other hand, I believe the financial assistance would be more vital to developing countries. The initiatives of education reform would appear to be infeasible if a country is financially disadvantaged. In the aforementioned example regarding Vietnam, while the idea of reforming the education system seems promising in the long-term, it cannot be executed in the short-term due to various costs associated, such as purchasing learning tools, training and paying teachers. Furthermore, with the external monetary flow, poor nations can invest in medical and scientific researches. Should a sufficient money is spent on those crucial areas, technological advancements are likely to be made and such innovations would bring about economic growth of a nation.

In conclusion, while some people argue that foreign practical assistance is more useful for third world countries, I strongly believe that support in form of finance serves as a better solution.