Some people think that environmental problems are too big for individuals to solve, while others think that the government cannot solve these environmental problems unless individuals take some action. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

People have different views whether environmental pitfalls are too huge for every single person to tackle. Meanwhile, others believe that only governments without individuals can not address these issues. In my opinion, I believe that governments and individuals should make a joint attempt to alleviate any problems which are related to the environment.

On the one hand, there are a plethora of compelling reasons which must be considered when only governments tackle any problems surrounding the environment. Firstly, only governments have full authorities to exert their power to put pressure on their citizens. This means that unless the governments do not join in these environmental cases, people do not have any rights to alleviate these problems. Secondly, people only do various small things instead of big deals like governments. Taking Germany as an example, citizens can not deal with big environmental problems without the governments. This led to the depletion of natural resources in there.

On the other hand, I believe that if both governments and individuals join hands to strive the environment can upgrade the quality. From citizens’ perspective, it is the best way to promote the awareness of individuals. They need to know that various households dump millions of tonnes of toxic waste into lakes, rivers, and oceans. By this way, the environment can be destroyed immensely. From governments’ perspective, competent authorities can release any strict punishments on individuals to prevent any adverse actions on living areas such as overexploitation on natural resources. In addition, financial support schemes which are sponsored by governments can encourage the adoption of preventative measures.

In conclusion, due to the fact that environmental pitfalls are too huge to deal with if only individuals join in, I suppose that it will be better if governments and individuals can make a joint attempt.