Some people think that everyone should aim to get white-collar jobs, while others believe there are advantages to blue-collar jobs as well. Discuss both views and give your opinions.

There are more and more people place emphasis on seeking a white-collar job, whereas, others embrace the opinion that blue-collar jobs also have some benefits and are worth respect. This essay is to elaborate on both points of view before coming to my opinion.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that an intellectual job is better for one’s career path because of some reasons. First of all, in the face of innovation economy which is more and more knowledge-based, white-collar workers are less likely to be unemployed while manual workers are facing the high rate of unemployment because most repetitive manual jobs will soon all be done by machines. Thus, many young people are trying to pursue higher education that can lead to a professional job. Secondly, apart from being paid more highly than manual workforces, office workers also enjoy many more perks, such as high bonuses, paid leaves, healthier working environments, and so on. Furthermore, white-collar workers generally have better professional connections and knowledge that help them get higher positions in the future and be useful in many other aspects of life as well.

However, blue-collar jobs still play important roles in economies due to some reasons. To begin with, in terms of individual perspective, because not everyone has cognitive ability and enough money to study universities and then find an intellectual job. Some people are more suited to become manual labor. Moreover, blue-collar jobs may be taxing on the body, but it is less stressful mentally. In fact, the suicide rate due to mental stress in work is increasing dramatically. For a nation, to maintain a healthy economy, it will need a diverse workforce. Manual labor will always be needed in jobs that do not require knowledge such as construction workers.

In conclusion, although a white-collar job is actually helpful for the youth today to get a better employment prospect, I still believe that at different options of each people, a blue-collar job is also good for them.