Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

It is really difficult for people to make a decision on which jobs they want to do in the future as careers depend on various elements both people’s personalities, passions and society’s demand. Moreover, choosing subjects to learn at university is also a controversial problem. While some people argue that it would be better for students to be forced into certain key subjects. I do hold with the idea that everyone should have the right to study whatever they are keen on.

On the one hand, there are a variety of reasons why some people support the idea that students should follow the fixed curriculum of universities with subjects useful in the future such as science or information technology. First of all, after graduating from high school, there are many students do not have enough information about various subjects including their applicability in real work to determine what they should study. Secondly, Science and technology are an extremely important element for the stable growth of a country in this contemporary era. Science in the world especially in developed countries is constantly improved to replace humans creating great things and serve human life again. Therefore, some people argue that society needs talent engineers, scientists more than poets or novelists.

In spite of these arguments, I still believe that students should be free to choose subjects that they are interested in. Firstly, not all students understand clearly their personality because it takes them a long time to define themselves through their experiences so that studying various subjects can help them find out their passions. It cannot be denied that when doing a job you love, you can absolutely achieve the highest result. It is really useless to require a student having a talent in art to studying Maths or Economics. Secondly, nobody can really predict which areas of knowledge will be most useful to society in the future. Besides advances in modern life, humans definitely need music, poems, literature, paintings and so on which enrich their souls. It is the art that makes life colorful. So, limiting subjects for students means blocking their potential talents.

In conclusion, while people differ in opinion about whether students should be allowed to learn key subjects or not, I am favor of the idea that it is good for the comprehensive development of society if students are free to learn different subjects depending on their interests.