Some people think that famous people can help international aid organizations to draw attention to important problems. Others believe that the celebrities can make the problems seem less important. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There has been much debate regarding the role of famous people in raising public awareness of major issues. While celebrities can attract people's attention to the problems, I would argue that they are likely to make the problems become less crucial.

On the one hand, it is believed that well-known people can assist international aid organisations in raising people's awareness of social issues. Firstly, celebrities can communicate information about big problems to a large audience around the world. For example, by taking part in the Ice Bucket Challenge in 2014, various celebrities such as Bill Gates or Mark Zuckerberg have helped the ALS Organisation to let millions of people know about a disease called ALS. Secondly, since people tend to listen to the ones they admire, famous people are much more likely to be able to ask their fans to take appropriate actions. For instance, a well-known football player can ask people to donate money to help homeless individuals.

However, I believe famous people might make the problems become less important. The first reason is that individuals tend to only pay attention to what celebrities do and say rather than what messages they want to convey. In the aforementioned example about the Ice Bucket Challenge, many people watched the videos of celebrities taking up the challenge without actually learning anything about the ALS disease. This makes little contribution to solving the problem compared to the large number of famous people involved. Furthermore, in order to attract viewers, well-known people usually try to deliver their messages in a funny and entertaining way, which might lead to the problems becoming less serious.

In conclusion, while celebrities can contribute to tackling social problems, I believe they are more likely to make these problems seem less important.