Some people think that genetically modified (GM) crops are a positive development. Others, however, argue that they are potentially dangerous. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, as more and more technologies are able to change genetic components of plants, people begin worrying whether its cons have outweighed its pros. Some argue that such innovations are detrimental, while others believe that they are immensely beneficial. From my point of view, I agree with the statement that GM technologies are dangerous.

On the one hand, it is clear that there are various applications and advantages produced by GM crops. One of those utilisations would be the unprecedented increase in pests resistant. This means that insects are not likely to attack and cause harm onto fields and thus could aid to maintain a high level of farming productivity. Another gain would be the noticeable rise in plants quality and uniquenesses. Modified watermelon, for example, would be greatly tastier and significantly larger than the normal one. As a result, not only people could buy extraordinary fruits, but the harvesters would also earn a considerable amount of profit.

On the other hand, despite all the mentioned positivities, GM plants still hold many unknown aspects. The safety of these crops, for instance, is not proven completely by biologists. There are cases in which people who over-consume GM products would eventually get long-term effects such as sickness or food abstention. Furthermore, there are not enough research papers or mass evidence indicating the harmlessness of such supplies. Meanwhile, several reports have illustrated that by sowing these crops in a wide extent, the respective habit, including soil and minerals, would consequently drop. In other words, many questionable phenomena from these new resources are yet to be denied.

To conclude, whereas altered seeds provide numerous positive impacts, it is necessary to carry more scrutinies revolving their influences on human beings.