Some people think that good health is very important to every person, so medical service should not be run by profit-making companies. Do the advantages of private healthcare outweigh the disadvantages?

In this day and age, it is commonly proposed that for-profit commercial enterprises should not be authorized to run the healthcare system on account of its key role. From my personal perspective, I tend towards the standpoint that profitable companies – related medical treatments would obviously bring more drawbacks than merits.

To begin with, there is no shadow of doubt that private healthcare has an abundance of positive sides. Firstly, they are definitely sharing responsibilities with state-owned medical care institutions in taking care of the public’s health. It is clear that the greatly development of the profit-yielding healthcare service could reduce significantly the exceeding pressure on public hospitals in terms of overload patients and finance. Besides, due to running mechanism of profit-making companies, these private clinics continuously have greatly attempts in order to improve healthcare services such as shorten waiting list or offer up-to-date facilities as well as medicine with the aim of gaining a lot in their favor to survival in a drastically competitive world.

By contrast, the trend towards the uncontrolled development of the privately owned hospitals is perhaps even more adversely damaging. In accordance with maximizing profit, numerous companies have provided a range of unaffordable medical services which impoverished class cannot approach for treatment purposed. Moreover, they have considerable impacts on medical practitioners’ awareness together with their actions. For instance, many doctors could be driven by the profit to prescribe completely needless and exorbitant medicine or therapy for patients who just suffer from some minor illness. Vietnam perfectly exemplifies this situation. Ultimately, this trend could lead to a more severe obstacles than we might think.

In conclusion, it is clear to me that there are more disadvantageous when healthcare services are uncontrollably offered by privately owned.