Some people think the government funding should not be used for supporting art and culture, others think supporting cultural activities may be beneficial for the population and the culture. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The idea that governmental financial assistance should be spent on stimulating art and culture remains a source of controversy. While this policy is believed to associate with a few shortcomings, I would contend that the benefits are far more significant.

There are two strong reasons as to why investing money in promoting cultural development is disadvantageous. Firstly, if the government allocate too much money to support cultural and artic activities, the comprehensive development of society is adversely affected. This is because when a large amount of money is used in the field of art and culture, authorities may have less money to allocate to other key fields, such as education, health care, the environment-related protection which are directly related to the improvement of human life. Secondly, people, especially students may pay more attention to the cultural program than other significant activities. They, as a consequence, can be distracted in learning academic knowledge such as cutting-edge technology, working skills, including communication, time management, leadership skills which are all need in the context of globalization.

However, I firmly claim that providing financial support for art and culture has more advantages. The primary reason is that if the governmental revenue is used to enhance art constructions and service facilities, the tourism industry may be encouraged. Not only can local people get job opportunities, but the government may be also paid more taxes by travel companies. In addition, although the merits of using governmental funding for culture do not reflect immediately, it has a profound impact on the preservation of national culture. Museum of ethnic Vietnam, for instance, is a place where has reserved the culture and house style of the 54 officially recognized ethnic groups in Vietnam thanks to the governmental budget for construction of the museum was millions USD.

In conclusion, although the investment funding in art and culture is disadvantageous in some ways, such as leading the imbalanced improvement in the community, I strongly argue that the pros of governmental financial support are greater, including promoting tourism and reservation national culture.