Some people think that the government should not support creative artists and give money to the public sector. Other people claim that artists should be supported by the government. Discuss both views and give your opinion

Problem of the government's financial acts in different sectors has been discussed in society for recent years. There is an opinion that the government should not fund creators of art but should invest in more significant sectors of people's lives. At the same time there are some people who have an opposite opinion and think that artists should be funded too. Although the development of public sector should be in the government's preference, I think that supporting art sphere is not less important.

On the one hand, art exhibitions are a valuable part of the entertainment sphere. This means that people usually visit art events for relaxation, to broaden their minds or to find some inspiration for new beginnings, what is more, they pay money for this opportunity. Therefore, the government should be interested in supporting people who are creating art. According to research conducted by the New Institute for Cultural Studies in Russia in 2018 about 38 percent of respondents said that they are ready to attend art exhibitions in their free time. In other words, the development of art can be useful both morally and financially.

On the other hand, there is a point in paying attention to other spheres except art, in healthcare for example. That is because medicine and security are directly connected with life expectancy and life standards. Hence, developing healthcare in our country can be a better decision than funding artists. According to research conducted by Bloomberg in 2016 Russian level of healthcare was in 55th place among all countries. Thus, if there is a choice between entertainment and healthcare, the government should firstly invest in more vital sector.

In conclusion, even though there are important aspects which demand investments from the government, I think that sphere of art and culture is necessary for people's psychological and mental growth, consequently, it should be funded and developed as well.