Some people think the government should pay for health care and education, but there is no agreement about whether it is the government’s responsibility. What is your opinion?

There is a school of thought that health care and education have become the focus of the people’s concern in many recent decades. Nevertheless, it is a controversial debate to who should pay for these services. In my opinion, while I agree that basic health care and education should be on the government, the costs of advanced health care and higher education should be borne by individuals.

On the one hand, it is irrefutable that it is the government’s responsibility to make basic health care and primary education accessible to everyone. The first reasons to support it is that a nation’s prosperity very much depends on the contributions made by its well-educated residents who are in good condition of health. Moreover, we should see from thousands of people in Africa, a region which is infamous for poverty, are starving the default of basic necessities such as food or eventually fresh water. If they did not have moneys to pay for foods, drinks or clothes, there is no doubt that they could not pay for health services and education. It stands to the reason that private schools and hospitals can be available for those who want and can afford it but the free schools and free government hospitals should always be opened.

On the other hand, people should be responsible for their advanced education or some higher services of health that they want. Actually, the advanced medical and surgical treatments are very expensive in every aspect. So, instead of depending on government, they should take some health insurances or save in any other way with the tomorrow in mind. Furthermore, higher education could benefit the knowledge of individuals more than the nation. For this reason, it is quite reasonable to pay for it from one’s pocket.

As the aforementioned reasons, there are some sections of society who cannot afford their own healthcare. Hence, the government should build a system of knowing their financial status and provide free healthcare so that nobody dies even if they did not have money to pay for. As far as higher education is concerned, the ministry of education should have some system of interest free loans for the needy and gifted students.

In a nutshell, it seems to me that basic healthcare and primary education should be shouldered by the government but advanced services of both areas should be paid by individual from their pocket.