Some people think the government should pay for health care and education, but other people claim that it is the individual's responsibility. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is argued that healthcare and education should be paid by the government or the individual. I, however, believe that basic healthcare and primary education should be paid by the government while advanced healthcare and higher education should be borne by individuals.

On the one hand, it is the government’s responsibility that makes basic healthcare and primary education accessible to the public. The nation’s prosperity depends considerably on their well-educated society who might be treated by good health services. Additionally, we all pay taxes so we are entitled to get something back in return. While private schools and special healthcare treatment are always available to those who can afford them, public schools and basic healthcare system are needed to everyone in the community, especially the deprived people. It should be a government priority that those who live below a poverty line need to be provided free healthcare, consequently, nobody die for want of treatment. Moreover, the government should subsidize for the higher education of a section of the society who are meritorious students, brilliant state workers pursuing further knowledge to contribute to their home country’s development.

On the other hand, individuals should be responsible for their advanced healthcare and higher education. Actually, advanced medical and surgical treatments are expensive; therefore, instead of being governed by the government, individuals should take some health insurance or save in any other way with the tomorrow in mind. Similarly, private schools and higher education benefit individual more than the nation while international schools and studying abroad supply students with a variety of useful skills in order to adapt in the global environment and to become well-rounded citizens. As a result, it is likely more reasonable when these costs are shouldered by the individuals.

In conclusion, while the government should allocate their resources of basic healthcare treatment and primary education to the majority of the society, the individuals should pay for their advanced healthcare system and further education by themselves.