Some people think the government should spend money to look for life on other planets, others think it is a waste of public money, because there are other problems unsolved on earth.

Discuss both view and give your own opinion .

These days, many countries are spending large amounts of money exploring the universe and searching extra-terrestrial life. While these explorations may be beneficial to some extent, I would argue that addressing existing problems of the society such as extreme poverty, famine, abysmal healthcare should be the priority when allocating national budget.

On the one hand, the human race has long been eager to find the existence of life beyond the Earth. This is primarily because of the fear that some day, our planet may become uninhabitable with contagious diseases and global warming causing constant natural disasters. Should it happen, a new liveable planet will be the only chance for humans to survive. Apart from this, many technological inventions developed for these explorations can find various civilian applications, benefiting the life of humans on Earth. For example, the artificial satellites invented for space explorations can also be used to make weather predictions, allowing farmers to proactively deal with storms or drought to avoid crop losses.

On the other hand, I believe that solving humanitarian problems that people on Earth are facing is a more urgent mission. It is because the Earth is certainly the only home for humankind for the time being, which we should take care of before making efforts to find another one. Everyday, millions of people are dying due to long-term poverty, diseases and pollutions, which raises a call for investment in finding solutions to address. Therefore, instead of pouring billions of dollars into space exploration programs, developed nations should first come up with solutions and provide aid for low income countries to save them from diseases, hunger and poverty.

To conclude, it seems to me that governments should firstly prioritize people’s welfare by addressing social and economic problems before finding life in other planets.