Some people think history has little or nothing to offer, while others say the study of the past helps us understand the present. Write on both views and give your opinion, citing examples from your experience

It is often argued that it is almost impossible for such humanitarian professional field like history to teach people something new or improve their knowledge, while others disagree with this and think that without knowledge about the past people cannot build neither the present nor the future. This essay supports the idea that the information about the past provides better understanding the present. This essay will discuss both points of view.

Many people have opinion that the study about the past is useless due to it cannot help the society in the present. In other words, there is no place for such ancient facts as lifestyle of our ancestors, their worldview about politics and religion, ancient culture, ancient art of war and etcetera in the modern world which favors sophisticated high-tech manufacturing and looks into robotic future. For example, a 2019 study from Pedagogical University of Ukraine showed that 92% of high-school graduates chose technical specialties as a future education instead of humanitarian ones.

However, despite contemporary advances have a big impact on the modern community, people still need to know about their past to better understand the present and avoid, if possible, crucial mistakes in the future. That is to say those people who preferred to study history as a scientific subject or just hobby have better imagination about how our world works. Those people can notice significant mistakes of the officials, explain the causal relationships between the past and the present and if possible, correct the mass flow. In instance, only in Ukraine recently a lot of museums opened exhibitions of cultural heritage and historical values of Ukraine.

In conclusion, while some people have negative attention to history as to scientific discipline or cultural values, this essay agrees that the study of the past supplies people with necessary knowledge about the future, providing better understanding of how our world works.