Some people think history has little or nothing to offer, while others say the study of the past helps us understand the present. Write on both views and give your opinion, citing examples from your experience

It is often argued that it is almost impossible for such humanitarian professional field like history to teach people something new or improve their knowledge, while others disagree with this and think that without knowledge about the past people cannot build neither the present nor the future. This essay supports the idea that the information about the past provides better understanding the present. This essay will discuss both points of view.

Many people have opinion (which I disagree with) that the study about the past is useless due to it cannot help the society in the present. In other words, there is no place for such facts as lifestyle of our ancestors, their worldviews about politics and religion, ancient culture, ancient art of war and etc. in the modern world which favors sophisticated high-tech manufacturing and looks into robotic future. For example, a 2019 study from Pedagogical University of Ukraine showed that 92% of high-school graduates chose technical specialties as a future education instead of humanitarian ones.

Although contemporary advances have a big impact on the modern community, history is in fact very useful, actually indispensable. It helps us understand the people and societies. That is to say history offers the only extensive evidential base for the contemplation and analysis of how societies function, and people need to have some sense of how societies function simply to run their own lives. As a result, such knowledge allows people, for example, to notice significant mistakes of the officials, explain the causal relationships between the past and the present or correct the mass flow. Exploring the past, I personally constructed my own life that involves both a sense of beauty and a rational pragmatism.

In conclusion, while some people have negative attention to history as to scientific discipline or cultural heritage, this essay agrees that the study of the past supplies people with necessary knowledge about the future, providing better understanding how our world works.