Some people think that hosting an international sports event is good for the country, while some people think it is bad. Discuss both views and state your opinion.

Recently, there has been an argument that holding a worldwide sport event will bring benefits or drawbacks to the host country. It seems to me that the merits of hosting an international sports event are overshadowed by its demerits.

On the one hand, there are a number of benefits that an international sports event brings to the host country. First, hosting an international sport event will raise the country’s awareness. A world class tournament will have a large number of international audiences, which is a chance for the host nation to promote their local tourism. Holding an international sports event also helps to increase the patriotism among the citizens of the hosting country due to the fact that they will be proud of seeing their country on the international headlines during the entire event.

Despite the aforementioned advantages, I personally believe that a worldwide sport tournament does more harm than good for the host. There are many national security threats during the entire event due to the huge number of international fans coming to the host country. Criminals and terrorists may mingle with this massive movement to the country for illegal purposes. Additionally, hosting an international sports event may become a financial burden for the country. The government has to spend a gigantic amount of money to prepare infrastructure for a temporary event, while there may be a shortage of money for other sectors like education, poverty - alleviation.

In summary, because of the mentioned reasons, I am of the opinion that the disadvantages of hosting a world class sports tournament outweighs its advantages.