Some people think that hosting an international sports event is good for the country, while some people think it is bad. Discuss both views and state your opinion.

It is true that there are conflicting views about the benefits of hosting major international sports events. While some argue that such events are advantageous for the host nation, some people believe that they are a waste of money that could be better spent. I will elaborate on both sides and give my opinion in this essay.

On the one hand, advocates of hosting international sports events focus on the stimulus which they give to promoting health and economic prosperity. The fans and the public normally search for information about the destination on the internet as well as give reviews about their experience during the sports events. Eventually, the host country usually raise the profile of the country. Moreover, after the games, the country can get the chance to be a tourist attraction, which becomes a source of money for the government. In terms of the economy, hospitality and tourism benefit from the influx of sports fans from all over the world. An event such as the Olympic Games, for example, provides a kind of shop window for the host nation to advertise its attractions for tourists. Finally, because of the development of tourist business, there are more job opportunities for local residents, which contributes to the wealth of a nation.

However, there are some negative outcomes that need further consideration. First and foremost is the government budget. Obviously, holding a global event costs a huge amount of money. if the government of the host nation provides funding for these events, then it must curb public spending on hospitals, schools and a welfare state to help the poor. Therefore, poor countries and developing countries should not try to be the host country of these events, instead, they need to spend their budget on other important sectors such as public healthcare, education, and social insurance. Another thing that should be considered is environmental pollution. There are many pictures of tons of trash at the stadiums after the games, which is very common after the games. With the rapid increase in the tourist industry, the environment will highly be in danger in the future because of irresponsible acts of the visitors.

In conclusion, being a host country for an international sports game not only becomes a source of money for the government but also strengthens the economy. However, governments should also consider their budgets as well as the environmental issues before putting huge efforts into holding these events.