Some people think that hosting an international sports event is good for the country, while some people think it is bad. Discuss both views and state your opinion.

It is the case that the race for hosting global sporting events is intensely competitive. Yet some argue that hosting such events is problematic. Others and I opine that their arguments are not plausible, ignoring the far-reaching benefits of organizing such sports events.

On the one hand, it is believed that international sporting events would induce some serious problems in the host country. One of the evident problems is that the government needs to build new or renovate existing sports facilities, which means that they have to spend a huge sum of money on such investments. Consequently, other vital sectors like public health or education may suffer from a shortage of income for their development. Another issue is that when the tournament is being held, tourists from all over the world would flock to the host country. This massive movement might threaten national security, as some terrorists or criminals might come to the country for illegal purposes.

On the other hand, I deem that holding world-class sports tournaments such as Olympics or FIFA World cups would bring a great number of merits to the host country. In the first place, hosting such tournaments can build the reputation and dignity of the host country all over the world. Admittedly, increasing the profile of a city/nation can lead to lasting economic benefits. For example, cities that host the Olympics can be assured of a persistent increase in recognition and tourism. Further, another significant merit is the long-term investment that comes from preparing for a major event. The city/country will have a legacy of improved sporting venues. They have to invest in infrastructure and transport to cater to an influx of tourists and these facilities can use in the long run.

In short, although holding an international sporting event would have some drawbacks, I would contend that the benefits in terms of the country’s reputation and strategic investment are long-lasting and sustainable.