Some people think that hosting an international sports event is good for the country, while some people think it is bad. Discuss both views and state your opinion.

Divergent views regarding hosting global sporting events can bring myriad certain merits for a nation. Although this stance is fiercely attacked, I am in opposition to it for some rational reasons.

On the one hand, it is undisputed that holding a huge international event costs a particular country a handsome amount of money . Take the World Cup 2022 as an exemplary model, it is assumed that Qatar set aside 220 billion USD for this massive competition. Perceptibly, that can lead to numerous financial problems in a country and a glaring demonstration of economic stagnation, both of which are likely to have an adverse impact on the resident’s quality of life.

On the other hand, I still hold onto the notion that a country can make a giant profit by accepting to be a host for a global sports event. To begin with, a host country is capable of propelling tourism by organizing these kinds of events. For instance, Qatar has welcomed an influx of more than 1 million tourists coming to their country this year for the World Cup, and it is proposed that this would generate over 2 billion USD for its economy in the next three years. Moreover, through holding sport-related events, a nation can arouse the residents’ interest in sports. In other words, inhabitants, especially youngsters, in a country can be inspired and promoted to do more physical activities in order to boost their health by allowing them to fully immerse themselves in the event.

To sum up, albeit a aforementioned demerit of hosting an international sports event, I do ascertain that this trend is advantageous to a country.