Some people think that a huge amount of time and money is spent on the protection of wild animals, and this money could be better spent on the human population. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people hold the opinion that it is more worthy to invest time and expenditure in mankind rather than using them for wild animals’ conservation. I somewhat agree with this viewpoint because spending on human beings is vitally important but protecting animals is also necessary.

Time and financial resources should be better allocated to the human race for a combination of reasons. First and foremost, there are still the needy such as disadvantaged or homeless people who are struggling to survive owing to their poor financial health. To illustrate, it is obvious that many individuals all over the world have strapped for cash and even can not cover their basic needs like food or clothes. Especially in such a pandemic period, society has witnessed an ever-increasing number of unemployed, and it is difficult to find just temporary jobs to get by. They, therefore, really need time and financial support from the community to overcome their problems and improve living standards. Furthermore, as education acts as a key determiner in socio-economic development, more time and budgets need to be spent on educational activities, which would, in turn, paves the way for creating a civilized and thriving society.

On the other hand, people should also spend time and funding on animal-related projects moderately. The main supporting reason is that if wild animals are not protected, the ecological balance may be destroyed, which leads to a vast of disastrous repercussions for humans. It is exemplified by the extinction of several kinds of fauna causing the break of the food chain that has negative impacts on human lives. Another compelling reason is that animals are living side by side with us for a long time, and they are considered our friends. Hence, our lives would be much less meaningful and interesting in the absence of them.

To sum up, although the human race takes precedence over the fauna in terms of being concerned, we still need to spend a suitable amount of time and money on the conservation of animals, particularly those which are endangered.