There are more workers who work from home and more students who study from home. This is because computer technology is more and more easily accessible and cheaper. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, thanks to the reasonable cost and availability of digital technology, our society has witnessed an ever-increasing number of individuals who work or study online rather than going to their workplaces or educational institutions. This essay will analyze and then explain why I think this trend should be considered as a welcome development.

In terms of the laborers, the main supporting point is that working from home is much more conducive to their quality of life. First and foremost, this new method helps people save both time and money. To illustrate, they would pay less for facilities fees such as office expenditure or traveling fees. Workers now did not need to fritter away so much time on several time-consuming activities like transporting to their companies, doing makeup, or getting dressed too formally. As a result, people would have more financial budget and time to enjoy their life. Furthermore, internet-based working appears to be very helpful regarding tackling urgent problems because people can hold meetings at any time of day or night, no matter where they are. It is exemplified by many multinational enterprises, which organize discussions including employees and business partners all over the world regardless of time or their locations.

Turning to students, studying online make them learn more effectively owing to the comfortable environment and various sources of information being related to their curriculums at schools. If students learn from home, they may not be put under control or pressure from their teachers, which paves the way for their creativity. Moreover, just by searching on the internet, they can approach enormous available materials to use online or download them to serve their own purposes. For instance, many learners nowadays choose to study English online through websites like BBC Learning English or BBC News, which provide them with a variety of helpful lessons about all four different skills.

In conclusion, I restate that taking advantage of technological devices for distant working or studying should be seen as progress. I highly recommend people to develop and make it more popular in the future.