There are more workers working from home and more students studying from home. This is because computer technology is more and more easily accessible and cheaper.

Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages

Technology has penetrated every aspect of our life and people are undergoing changes in their working and studying styles. As a result, there has been a progressive increase in the number of remote workers and learners in many parts of the world. While I acknowledge the benefits of this trend, they are outweighed by its problems.

Admittedly, there is some truth in the view that teleworking and distance learning can be convenient and flexible. Workers and students don't need to allocate a great amount of money on commuting time. As a result, they can spend quality time with their family or participate in some recreational activities after a rigorous day. Besides that, telecommuting and internet-based learning allow both workers and students to arrange their time to meet deadlines without relying on the pace of other colleagues and peers. For example, outstanding students can determine which exercise suits their academic performance instead of following the general curriculum for all students and vice versa.

However, I would argue that these benefits are outstripped by the drawbacks. Both working and studying from home may result in a lack of socializing, which may hinder one's establishment of strong connections. Consequently, workers and students will be devoid of the buoyancy of communicating with other people. They are also easily distracted by external factors such as the notification from online shopping applications and the irresistible temptations of social media. Due to the distraction while working or studying, this style may reduce their productivity, thus decreasing their work and study performance in the long term.

In conclusion, although it is true that those who choose to work or study from home can benefit from the convenience and flexibility, these merits pale in comparison with potential dangers of this above inclination.