Some people think that books are losing importance as a source of information and entertainment. To what extent do you agree?

Books are a treasure of knowledge which people can find some things they need. They were very popular with many people around the world. However, books are increasingly becoming less important as a source of information and entertainment. I strongly agree with this statement because of two reasons: the Internet has been invented and the kinds of entertainment have been begun.

To begin with, it is believed that people are becoming less dependent on books as a source of information. Books are not only the way to gain information because of the Internet. Since the easy way to find out information, many people choose the Internet than books. Another reason is that people can check the truth of what they search. For instance, a recent survey in the U.S found that ninety per cent of people relies on the Internet to gain information. As a result, books are losing their important role in our life.

On the other side, although funny stories are printed in books, lots of people especially teenager prefer playing sports, going to the cinema… than reading book. They choose that because of health benefits and being bored with reading books. For example, a study in Australia found that eighty-five per cent of people doesn’t want to read books. Consequently, books are being a deserted as a way of entertainment because of many kinds of entertainment available these days.

In conclusion, I agree that the importance of books is fading in today’s world. As a convenient easy way, good for their health Word Wide Web and other entertainment are a good choice for most people.