Some people think that a huge amount of time and money is spent on the protection of wild animals and that this money could be better spent on the human population. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is appreciated that the effort to protect wild animals is costly and time-consuming, and it could have been better contributed to human beings. From my perspective, I truly agree with this statement.

There are several drawbacks of allocating time and budget to saving wild animals in terms of their potential threats to humans and waste of money. Initially, an overwhelming danger is that wild animals can carry diseases dangerous or fatal to humans. This is derived from the fact that wild species, such as tigers, are found to harbor parasites, such as intestinal worms and protozoa, which can be transmitted to humans through touching. That wild animals can attack people by biting or scratching is another dangerous factor, which may result in unwanted injuries. Besides, in order to aid wild species with suitable social, nutritional, and psychological needs, a tremendous amount of expenditure is required.

By contrast, spending time and money on people can solve the urgent needs of upgrading transportation infrastructure and tackling adversely infectious diseases. To begin with, because transport ensures the everyday mobility of people and contributes to the production and distribution of goods, the transportation network is indispensable to the well-functioning of economic activities and assured of social well-being. Infectious illnesses, moreover, can be passed from individual to individual, even leading to hazardous pandemics, notably the Covid pandemic. Therefore, it is urgent to channel every efforts into searching for cures. Therefore, transportation systems and medical researches deserve more sharp focus and financial resources.

In conclusion, as for acknowledging the demerits of wildlife conservation and the merits of caring and spending money on human population, my verdict is that humans should be prioritized over protecting wild animals.