Some people think that a huge amount of time and money is spent on the protection of wild animals, and that this money could be better spent on the human population. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

These days, there is a controversial question about whether the government should invest more on the human population or animal species. Some argue that it is more valuable to allocate more funding on projects that benefit humans rather than animals. Personally, I totally disagree with this notion and this essay will give some reasons for my opinion.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that it is important to invest financial resources in proving the quality of citizens’ life. In fact, in many places, especially in highland and rural areas, there are always many people living in poverty and children can not go to school. Therefore, supported money from local authorities may help them deal with their predicaments. For example, the Vietnamese government encourages children with poor conditions to go to school by imposing no tuition fee on them.

On the other hand, I’m more convinced that spending money on conserving wild animals is also necessary, besides the human population because the important role biodiversity plays in human life. First, government expenditure is used to construct wildlife sanctuaries which possibly help protect wild animals and provide them with safe shelter, especially endangered species. Consequently, this can maintain ecosystem balance closely related to humans. For instance, there are many wildlife sanctuaries like Cuc Phuong national park which are used to conserve animals in the red list in Vietnam. Second, the government also establishes many organizations preserving wild animals. Hence, they can monitor human activities which damage the natural habitat, especially poachers. The most compelling evidence is the World Wildlife Fund, an international organization helping protect endangered species all over the world.

To sum up, I’m in favour of the government should invest its state money in not only the human population, but also wild animals in order to retain the eco-balance attached with human life.