Some people think that with the increasing use of mobile phones and computers, people lose the ability to communicate face to face. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Recently, the question of the excessive use of smart devices, such as smartphone and computers has become a fiercely controversial issue. Some people assert that the increasing use of these causes damage to people's ability related to direct communication, while others argue otherwise. I wholeheartedly agree with the former stand. In the following essay, the evidence supporting this contention will be discussed alongside relevant examples.

First of all, it seems difficult to refute the idea that the development of technology makes it possible for people to contact others regardless of time and places. However, this phenomenon has exert a number of negative influences on face-to-face communication. An obvious reason is that a myriad of modern people are reluctant to keep in touch with others in reality. To exemplify, one recent study conducted by the Seoul National University illustrates that the number of people who have difficulty in conversation with others directly has increased after social networking applications, such as Facebook and Instagram, were introduced. Researchers analyzed a multitude of reasons for this social phenomenon and the main reason turned out that most people considered face-to-face conversation placing a huge amount of burden on them.

In addition, information and communication technology leads to numerous changes in the filed of occupation, which enables some people to deal with their affairs at house instead of commuting to work. These people contact their colleagues online, which prevents them from developing skills related to face-to-face communication since they spend most of their time on the Internet. As a brief illustration, one of my friend who works as a consultant at his house was extroverted in the past. However, he is accustomed to his work and he has lost social skills.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, I fully support the view that smart gadget has negative effects on people's communication skills for the reasons discussed above.